2009 Recipients Announced! 


New York, NY: On Monday September 21, 2009, the IT Awards (New York Innovative Theatre Awards) and host Julie Halston, announced the 2009 recipients at the Fifth Annual IT Awards Ceremony at New World Stages.

Those unable to attend joined the OOB theatre community's biggest night of the year online, and also followed theatre critic Aaron Riccio’s (Theater Talk’s New Theater Corps, That Sounds Cool) live-blogging. You can still catch all the excitement and acceptance speeches at www.nyitawards.com/live.

It was a sold out house filled with enthusiastic and genial OOB artists, dressed to the nines and ready to celebrate.

The opening number written and performed by Scott Williams and directed by Christopher Borg set the right tone from the beginning, getting the audience fired up and excited. The hysterical Julie Halston then took the stage and got the quick paced event started.

And here are the 2009 New York Innovative Theatre recipients:

2009 Outstanding Actor in a Featured Role
William Apps IV
2009 Outstanding Actress in a Featured Role
Constance Parng
2009 Outstanding Original Music
The Apple Sisters
2009 Outstanding Choreography/Movement
Austin McCormick
The Judgment of Paris
2009 Outstanding Solo Performance
Jeff Grow
Creating Illusion
2009 Outstanding Original Short Script
Nico Vreeland
The Interview
2009 Outstanding Original Full-Length Script
Nat Cassidy
The Reckoning of Kit & Little Boots
2009 Outstanding Sound Design
Asa Wember
Angel Eaters
2009 Outstanding Costume Design
Michelle Beshaw
The Very Sad Story of Ethel & Julius
2009 Outstanding Set Design
Michael P. Kramer
2009 Outstanding Lighting Design
Bruce Steinberg
Blue Before Morning
2009 Outstanding Stage Manager
Jillian Zeman
Astoria Performing Arts Center
2009 Outstanding Actress in a Lead Role
Elyse Mirto
Any Day Now
2009 Outstanding Actor in a Lead Role
Julian Elfer
Twelfth Night, or What You Will
2009 Outstanding Director
Suzi Takahashi
2009 Outstanding Ensemble
(Not) Just A Day Like Any Other
New York Neo-Futurists
2009 Outstanding Performance Art Production
Creating Illusion
soloNOVA Arts Festival
2009 Outstanding Production of a Musical
Like You Like It
The Gallery Players
2009 Outstanding Production of a Play
HERE Arts Center

In addition, the Honorary Awards were presented:

The Stewardship Award is presented to an individual or organization demonstrating a significant contribution to the Off-Off-Broadway community through service, support and leadership.  The 2009 Stewardship Award was presented by Commissioner Kate D. Levin to Harriet Taub and Materials for the Arts, a redistribution center for castoff and excess items from businesses and individuals in New York City.  It is a place where visual and performing arts organizations can find raw materials to realize their artistic visions.

The 2009 Artistic Achievement Award is bestowed upon an individual who has made a significant artistic contribution to the Off-Off-Broadway community.  This year Nilo Cruz presented the Artistic Achievement Award to the esteemed Maria Irene Fornes.  Fornes, a figure both frequently performed and frequently studied, is a seminal figure in the Hispanic-American and experimental theatre worlds.

The third of the honorary IT awards is the Caffe Cino Fellowship Award.  Not only does an Off-Off-Broadway theatre company that consistently produces outstanding work receive this honor; they also receive the benefit of a grant to be used toward an Off-Off-Broadway production. The 2009 Caffe Cino Fellowship Award was presented by Ben Hodges and Jeff Riebe to The Brick Theater Company, a not-for-profit theater company dedicated to nurturing the work of emerging artists at its performance space in Williamsburg, Brooklyn.

Read more about the 2009 honorary award recipients.

Congratulations to all the recipients


A Big Night For Small Theatre by Steven McElroy, New York Times 9/22/09
Lee/gendary, Like You Like It, Mirto and Elfter Are 2009 IT Award Winners, Playbill 9/21/09
offoffonline Congratulates 2009 IT Award Recipients by Valerie Work, 9/22/09


Join the community!
Forgot your password?