2009 Nominees Announced 


New York, NY: On July 20, 2009, The New York Innovative Theatre Awards celebrated it's 5th birthday and announced the 2009 nominees at its annual nominee announcement event at the Carmine Street Recreation Center.

On this beautiful summer evening, a well dressed and enthusiastic crowd gathered to share a drink, rub elbows and celebrate the fantastic 2009 season. Camera crews roamed the room and photographers flashed away as OOB artists enjoyed their time in the spotlight.

Over the past five years, the IT Awards has honored nearly 700 individual artists, over 240 productions, and 150 theatre companies; having collected over 16,000 ballots and disseminated more than 3,200 judges.

The 2009 Nominees were selected from an adjudication pool of approximately 2850 artists. Nominees include 142 individual artists, 49 different productions and 38 theatre companies.  

Presenting the 2009 honors were a panel of community members who support the artists and the foundation, they included: Roman Feeser, Playwright, author and member of the Board of Directors for the IT Awards, Aaron Riccio, Theater Critic and Editor, That Sounds ‘Kul, New Theatre Corp, and member of the Honorary Awards Committee, Stephanie Williams, Stage Manager and Chair of the Outstanding Stage Manager Committee, Hillary Cohen, Scholarship Coordinator, Baruch College and Program Development Coordinator for the IT Awards, Desmond Dutcher, Actor and Judge Wrangler for the IT Awards, Ron Bopst, Actors' Company Manager, Emerging Artists Theatre Company and at-large Judge.

In celebration of their 5th birthday, a special award was presented at the announcement event. Jason Bowcutt, Shay Gines and Nick Micozzi, co-executive directors of the New York Innovative Theatre Foundation, presented The Founders Award to Akia, an individual who has made a significant contribution to the New York Innovative Theatre Foundation and the Off-Off-Broadway community. This award is presented only upon special occasions and when it has truly been earned (not an annual award.) There has only been one Founders Award presented in the past, in 2004 to Paul Adams, Artistic Director of Emerging Artists Theatre Company.
"When reflecting on our last 5 years, and recognizing Akia's extraordinary contribution to our longevity and success, we realized that it was time once again to present this award," states Ms. Gines.  "It is perhaps the most personal of the awards that we offer, because the 3 of us, the Founders of the IT Awards, decide on it ourselves.  Akia's dedication to Off-Off Broadway and the IT Awards is monumental.  Without her, we would be unable to produce these two special events--the nomination party and awards ceremony.  She works tirelessly on a regular basis to make sure that everything runs flawlessly.  Her energy, dedication and unwavering loyalty is invaluable, we could not do it without her."

And what would a birthday party be without cake and a song.  Lead by IT Foundation's Chair of the Board of Directors, Michael Mitchell, the capacity crowd sang Happy Birthday and noshed on birthday cake and fresh strawberries.

This event was sponsored by:

Kampfire Films PR - www.kampfirefilmspr.com
United Stages - www.unitedstages.com
GUS (Grown Up Soda) - www.drinkgus.com
Yuengling - www.yuengling.com
Drew & Rogers, Inc. - www.drew-rogers.com
Kyden Machine Inc. - www.kydeninc.com

Contributions were made by:

The Off-Off-Broadway Community Dish
The League of Independent Theatre


The Stage is the Place - 7/21/09 Blog
Its and Honor Just to Be... - 7/21/09 CollisionWorks Blog


Join the community!
Forgot your password?