Doric Wilson Independent Playwright Award Committee At Work 


This year, the first-ever Doric Wilson Independent Playwright Award, which includes a financial gift, will be given to an Off-Off-Broadway/Indie Theatre playwright, to be announced at the 2012 New York Innovative Theatre Awards in September.

Doric Wilson was a radical, pioneering, innovative, and unflinching playwright and New York theater artist. He was one of the original playwrights of the Caffe Cino, the author of many extraordinary plays, and the creator and artistic director of TOSOS (The Other Side of Silence). The success of his plays at Caffe Cino helped, in the words of playwright Robert Patrick, to "establish the Cino as a venue for new plays, and materially contributed to the then-emerging concept of Off-Off-Broadway." His Now She Dances!, a fantasia on the trial of Oscar Wilde, was the first Off-Off-Broadway play to deal positively with gay people. Under the mentorship of producer Richard Barr, Wilson became a pioneer of the alternative theatre movement, dedicating his career to writing, directing, producing and/or designing hundreds of productions. He was one of the first playwrights invited to join the Barr/Wilder/Albee Playwright's Unit and later became a founding member of Circle Repertory Company. Through his work with TOSOS and because of his unwavering love and belief in playwrights and the theater he was a mentor and friend to many young writers and helped foster the future of their plays.

The Award named in Doric’s honor will be given to a playwright of any age, whose writing honors the innovation, uncompromising vision, heart, and spirit that was Doric Wilson and his work. Writers from the five boroughs of New York City who have not received an Off-Broadway, Broadway, or prominent regional theater production, will be eligible for consideration. Selection is by committee, and the playwright shall receive the inaugural Doric Wilson Independent Playwright Award as well as an unrestricted grant.

The 2012 selection committee for the award is Jennifer Conley Darling (Producing Artistic Director, terraNOVA Collective), Mark Finley (Artistic Director, TOSOS), Julie Kline (Artistic Associate, Rising Phoenix Repertory; Literary Manager, Rattlestick Playwrights Theater; Associate Director, Roots&Branches Theater), Daniel Talbott (Artistic Director, Rising Phoenix Rep, Lit Manager, Rattlestick), and Kathleen Warnock (Playwrights Company Manager, EAT; Curator Robert Chesley/Jane Chambers Playwrights Project, TOSOS). For the inaugural year, playwrights will be nominated by committee members and the honoree will be chosen by a majority decision by the five members of the committee.


Join the community!
Forgot your password?