IT Awards Name 2011's Honorary Recipients 

Doug Strassler 

The IT Awards have named this year’s recipients for their annual honorary awards.

The 2011 Artistic Achievement Award, presented to an individual who has made a significant artistic contribution to the Off-Off-Broadway community, will go to Robert Patrick. Since 1964, Patrick has had thousands of productions of dozens of plays on six continents from The Haunted Host at the first Off-Off-Broadway theatre, the Caffé Cino, to Kennedy's Children on the West End and Broadway.

“The freedoms which Off-Off-Broadway helped win for the performing arts have changed theatre, movies, and television worldwide. Off-Off and the environments physical and spiritual which it created are more important than ever to teach and remind people that art can be personal and interesting, political and unaffiliated, creative and reconstructive, and that consciousness can exist uninterrupted by advertising,” says Patrick. “To know that my work is remembered is a staggering and humbling experience.”

Flux Theatre Ensemble will receive this year’s 2011 Caffé Cino Fellowship Award, presented to an Off-Off-Broadway theatre company that consistently produces outstanding work. This award also includes a grant to be used toward an Off-Off-Broadway production. Flux Theatre Ensemble produces transformative theatre that explores and awakens the capacity for change. As an ensemble-artist driven company, they believe that long-term collaboration and rigorous creative development can unite artists and audiences to build a creative home in New York.

“Receiving the Caffé Cino Fellowship Award is more than an honor for Flux: it is a charge to reach farther and dare further to live up to the legacy of the Caffé Cino and the extraordinary theatres who have won this award before us,” says Artistic Director August Schulenburg. “The Cino honors a single company, but in the spirit of a larger community, and we gratefully accept this award as fellow artists of that larger movement.”

Finally, this year’s Stewardship Award has been renamed the Ellen Stewart Award, in honor of the late pioneer, who was the first person to receive the honor in 2005. The award goes to an individual or organization demonstrating a significant contribution to the Off-Off-Broadway community through service, support and leadership.

This year’s recipient is Horse Trade Theater Group,  a self-sustaining theater development group which focuses on new work and provides rehearsal and performance space to many downtown theater companies.

“I can’t imagine anything more rewarding than being told by your peers that the work you do matters to so many,” said Erez Ziv, managing director of Horse Trade. “Especially this year, when HT is embarking on its largest project yet, it is a great moral booster and a wonderful testament that what we do really does matter.

“The Off-Off-Broadway community is our community, it is the hardest working arts community in NYC, with most practitioners holding down at least one other job in addition to the full time work they put into each and every production, we feel it is important to ensure that when they walk into their performance space their productions have the best possible chance of succeeding.”

The Honorary Awards will be presented at the Seventh Annual IT Awards ceremony held on Monday, September 19, 2011. Tickets are $25 and are available at If you are unable to attend, you can join the OOB theatre community's biggest night of the year online at



Join the community!
Forgot your password?