Honorary Awards Applications Now Available Online 


Every year, in addition to the production categories, the IT Foundation presents three honorary awards at its annual ceremony. These Honorary Awards are presented to individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions to the Off-Off-Broadway community and are selected each year by the Honorary Awards Committee.

Applications are due Monday, May 2, 2011

The Honorary Awards are:

  • The Artistic Achievement Award, presented to an individual who has made a significant artistic contribution to the Off-Off-Broadway community*;

  • The Caffe Cino Fellowship Award, presented to an Off-Off-Broadway theatre company that consistently produces outstanding work. This award also includes a grant to be used toward an Off-Off-Broadway production;

  • The Stewardship Award, presented to an individual or organization demonstrating a significant contribution to the Off-Off-Broadway community through service, support and leadership.

Complete your application today!

Past Recipients


Artistic Achievement - Basil Twist
Stewardship Award - Ellen Stewart, LaMaMa, ETC.
Caffe Cino Fellowship – Inverse Theater Company

Artistic Achievement - Tom O’Horgan
Stewardship Award - The Field
Caffe Cino Fellowship - Vampire Cowboys

Artistic Achievement - Doric Wilson
Stewardship Award - Alliance of Resident Theatres/NY
Caffe Cino Fellowship - Rising Phoenix Repertory

Artistic Achievement - Judith Malina
Stewardship Award - Martin & Rochelle Denton, New York Theatre Experience
Caffe Cino Fellowship  - Boomerang Theatre Company

Artistic Achievement –  Maria Irene Fornes
Stewardship Award – Materials for the Arts
Caffe Cino Fellowship – The Brick Theater, Inc.

Artistic Achievement –  Lanford Wilson
Stewardship Award – Dixon Place
Caffe Cino Fellowship – The New York Neo-Futurists

* While there is not an application for the Artistic Achievement, we encourage community members to email suggestions to the committee at info@nyitawards.com.


Join the community!
Forgot your password?